History of my name

My name is Alexa. Or is it? Is it Katelyn, Kimberly, or maybe Scarlet? Those were the options for “my name”. When my parents were naming the greatest thing that ever happened to them. The meaning of the actual name didn’t matter to them. For example, they didn’t want a baby girl named Angela just because it meant angel. But instead chose a name they had somewhat of a connection with. For my father “Alexa” was the name of a girl that he liked in middle school. My ma’s connection wasn’t so odd she just met a girl named “Alexa” and liked her name. So generally my Pa was mainly responsible for not only naming me but my siblings’ names as well. According to the website “Name.org” the name “Alexa” means “Strong woman, defender of all mankind”. I love that definition, my parents may not put a definite meaning behind my name but I’m glad the internet picked out a sweet definition. Regardless though I always wondered why they went with “Alexa” they had so much better options and went with the simplest of the five!? Turns out there is a story behind that. My Mother and Pa originally planned to name me Katelyn, and Elena as my middle name instead of Alexa, Barbie. But my mom also has a sister who was also pregnant at the time, whom she of course told everything to, including the name she had in mind… So guess what my cousin’s name is… Katelyn Elena R. MY AUNT stole my name I was betrayed before birth.


I think my name is “okay” like I don’t “hate” it but I wouldn’t say I like it either. I remember when I was little and a small part of me would want the teacher to mess up my name. Even though it’s pretty simple and hard to get wrong one can always hope. But I would want a long name just cause. The only time I really liked my name was in kindergarten when I was trying to write it out because it was short.


The definition of Alexa I would say it properly represents me I do defend everyone I care about. But I wouldn’t say all mankind… It’s just me that people I care about against the world.


Every New school year there’s always that one or two teachers that make a comment about my name being “Alexa” and compare it to the robot it’s so irritating. LIKE I’ve heard the same joke ever since Amazon Alexa came out. Like yes I understand but it’ll never be funny to me.


If I could change my name… I don’t really know what I would pick I feel like that’s too much pressure. But since I don’t really like my name being so short I probably pick a name where I’d be able to have a lot of nicknames. One name I would pick is “Alexandra” because “Alexa” is just a shortened version of that. Also, I could have more letters to work with I could call myself “Andy”, “Dera” “Deri” or just “Ale” SO many possible nicknames. The second name I would pick is Danielle. I would pick that name because it already sounds like a nickname it’s cute and it’s just the right amount of short. The final name I would consider is Leone just cause it’s cute.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started